Jelly Roll Slice Quilt Top

I finally bit the bullet and did it. I reserved a day on the long arm at my LQS.

I have two quilts ready to go, just laying on top of the yarn stash judging me. They are the Layer Cake Pop and Jelly Roll Twist from back in the spring. I’m really excited to get them finally turned into quilts I can snuggle under this fall!

I got to thinking that there is a chance that I will finish both of them that day with time to spare. Now, I certainly may not, I am not exactly a practiced and speedy long-arm-quilter. But… I don’t want to finish early in the day when I could enjoy more quilting. It’s one of my favorite parts, after all.

And so, I started thinking about patterns that I could make in a jiffy.  Of course, I turned to FQS’s shortcut quilt collection–I don’t have much piecing patience, really. I selected the Jelly Roll Slice quilt and chose a sushi roll from Lecien in the La Conner collection. The blocks were a snap to make.

IMG_20170916_140707

img_20170916_143533.jpg

I finished sewing the rows together last night. It’s a little out of my usual comfort zone, but it’s still really pretty. This is a really easy pattern. I think my piecing is getting better, I’m trying my best to practice and just keep at it.

IMG_20170921_172018

I’m on the long-arm on Saturday. I may not get this one quilted that day, but at least quilt tops don’t go bad.


YoM day 258-264: Quilting and shawl knitting


Happy making!

5 thoughts on “Jelly Roll Slice Quilt Top

Leave a comment